Alachua, Fla. — NCCER is proud to recognize the winners of the SkillsUSA Carpentry and Masonry competitions. The winners were announced on June 27 at the 50th annual SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference in Kansas City, Mo.  

More than 6,100 outstanding career and technical education (CTE) students competed in 99 different craft, technical and leadership fields. The competitions were part of the SkillsUSA Championships, which is the national-level competition for high school and college/postsecondary students enrolled in CTE programs.

2014 marked the fifth year that NCCER has sponsored the SkillsUSA Carpentry Competition and its second year sponsoring the Masonry Competition, with Carpentry Technical Committee Chair Boyd Worsham of The Haskell Company and Masonry Technical Committee Chair Bryan Light of Brick Industry Association leading the way in organizing the events.

NCCER is proud to congratulate the winners from both contests. In carpentry, high school medalists were Christopher Moran of Saint Joseph, Mo. (Gold); Dylan Herring of Seneca, S.C. (Silver); and Joseph Davino of Waterbury, Conn. (Bronze). Postsecondary medalists were Ryan Greenwood of Orem, Utah (Gold); Alex Kenne of Emmetsburg, Iowa (Silver); and Jacob Hill of Waco, Texas (Bronze).

In masonry, high school medalists were Samuel McSherry of Salem, Va. (Gold); Dakota Claypool of Beckley, W.Va. (Silver); and Ty Isbell of Rainsville, Ala. (Bronze). Postsecondary medalists were Daniel Furr of Mount Pleasant, N.C. (Gold); David Arce of Phoenix (Silver); and Brandon Gain of Media, Pa. (Bronze).

Carpentry contestants framed a roof and wall using wood and metal, sheathed the roof with plywood and built a small dormer with exposed rafters completed with fascia. Contestants were judged on accuracy, ability to read and interpret blueprints, workmanship and the proper use of tools and materials.

Masonry contestants constructed a brick and block project using 26 concrete masonry units in three different sizes and 105 modular and uncored modular brick. Using the design plans, contestants constructed the materials on a concrete base.

Winners of both competitions were decided based on the combined results of a written exam and evaluation of the competition project by a panel of journey-level judges. The contests are planned by technical committees made up of industry representatives and are designed to test the skills needed for successful entry‑level performance as a carpenter or mason. Due to their tremendous importance, safety practices and procedures are also judged as a component of each contestant’s overall score.

Members of the 2014 national technical committee for carpentry included Chair Boyd Worsham, The Haskell Co.; Robyn Bucknam, DEWALT; Clay Kubicek, Crossland Construction Company, Inc.; Ed Prevatt, NCCER; Terry Westerman, ClarkDeitrich; Tracy Chambers, Nabholz Construction; and Jay Wetterhus, Morton Buildings Inc.

A national education team assisted the carpentry national technical committee. Members included Les Zimmerman, Troy Rupp and Beth Zimmerman, all from Alexandria Technical and Community College in Minnesota.

Members of the 2014 national technical committee for masonry included Chair Bryan Light, Brick Industry Association; Dan Belcher, NCCER; Nick Blohowiak, SPEC MIX, Inc.; John Bongiovanni, Bon Tool Co.; Jeff Buczkiewicz, Mason Contractors Association of America; Brian Carney, SPEC MIX, Inc.; Rolly Cox, Multiquip Corp.; Dennis Graber, National Concrete Masonry Association; Kim Haley, Marshalltown Co.; Peter Kiley, Oldcastle Architectural; Bill Kjorlien, Argos USA; Ray Leonhard, Brick Industry Association; and Bob Melton, Masonry Institute of Tennessee.

A national education team assisted the national technical committee. Members included Al Herndon, Florida Masonry Apprentice & Educational Foundation; Todd Larson, Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College; Billy Matkins, New Albany Schools; Richard McKnight and Richard Nagy.

NCCER would like to thank the following organizations for supporting America’s youth through their generous financial support and prize donations for this year’s carpentry and masonry competitions: Associated Builders and Contractors; the Associated General Contractors of America; Bon Tool Company; Argos Masonry Cement; Brick Industry Association; Brick Industry Association – Southeast Region; Build Your Future; Cianbro; ClarkDietrich Building Systems; Construction Master Pro by Calculated Industries; Crossland Construction Company; DEWALT; Fluor; The Haskell Company; Irwin Tools; ISN; Jacobs Engineering Group; KBR; Klein Tools; Marek Brothers Systems; Marshalltown Company; Mason Contractors of America; Morton Buildings; Multiquip Corporation; Nabholz Construction; National Concrete Masonry Association; NAWIC Education Foundation; North American Crane Bureau; Oldcastle Architectural; PCL Industrial Construction; Pearson; Prov; Robins & Morton; S&B Engineers and Constructors; Smith Level Company; Snap-on; SPEC MIX, Inc.; Stiletto; TIC-The Industrial Company; Tradesmen International and Zachry.