ALACHUA, Fla. — NCCER is pleased to recognize John Lupacchino of Gaylor Electric, Inc. in Noblesville, Indiana as the Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) 2016 Craft Instructor of the Year.

NCCER presented Lupacchino with the prestigious award and a $10,000 cash prize from NCCER and the Trimmer Construction Education Foundation at ABC’s Workforce Development Conference on March 4 in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. The Craft Instructor of the Year is presented each year to an instructor who possesses outstanding creativity, a positive attitude and the ability to transfer knowledge through exceptional communications skills and innovative teaching to promote lifelong learning to the future workforce. The award recipient represents NCCER and ABC’s commitment to training America’s skilled craft workforce.

Lupacchino teaches electrical classes at Gaylor Electric and has taught electrical apprentices for over 14 years at ABC’s Indiana/Kentucky Chapter. He has nearly 30 years of electrical construction experience and is currently a licensed master electrician in over 35 jurisdictions, an NCCER certified craft instructor and a LEED accredited professional.

“The bottom line is that John is a dedicated craft professional who is committed to improving people and the industry,” said Chuck Goodrich, president of Gaylor Electric. “His dedication to the craft and eagerness to share his knowledge has earned him the highest respect from his peers and supervisors. Because of John’s expertise and instruction, Gaylor Electric experiences a high retention of employees who desire to learn and make quality a priority on every project.”

Lupacchino began his career as an apprentice before going on to become a journeyman, supervisor, project manager and now a design engineer and craft instructor. In his current role, he is responsible for engineering design, estimating, quality assurance and code interpretation and compliance.
This year’s Craft Instructor of the Year award finalists include Bryan McClure of LPR Construction and Dan Sterry of TIC – The Industrial Company from ABC’s Rocky Mountain Chapter and William Stobie of Wayne-Finger Lakes Board of Cooperative Educational Services from ABC’s Empire State Chapter. All three finalists won $1,000 each and complimentary round-trip travel and hotel accommodations to the ABC conference and awards presentation.