Alachua, Fla. — On June 27, the winners of the SkillsUSA Carpentry Competition were announced at the awards ceremony for the 48th annual SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference. The Conference was held June 23-27, 2012, in Kansas City, Mo. Over 5,600 outstanding career and technical education students joined in the excitement of hands-on competition in 94 different trade, technical and leadership competitions.

This is NCCER’s third year sponsoring the SkillsUSA Carpentry Competition, with carpentry committee chair Boyd Worsham of The Haskell Company leading the way in organizing the event.

NCCER is proud to congratulate secondary level medalists Brandon Hicks of Tiffin, Ohio (Gold); Michael Gallagher of Brockton, Mass. (Silver); and Ty Martin of Helena, Mont. (Bronze). Post-secondary medalists were Jesse Bolt of Turnersville, N.J. (Gold); Seth Miller of Litchfield, N.H. (Silver); and Ethan Matlock of Arma, Kan. (Bronze).

Each of the first place winners received a prize package including a trip to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Bristol race provided by NCCER’s Build Your Future campaign and Irwin Tools. In addition, all the medalists received prizes from DeWalt, Duo-Fast, Irwin Tools, NCCER, Pearson, Morton Buildings, Senco and Bahco.

Carpentry contestants framed walls using wood and metal studs, cut stair stringers and installed railing, drywall, baseboard moldings and window trim. Contestants were judged on accuracy, ability to read and interpret blueprints, workmanship and the proper use of tools and materials.

“We put together this com

petition to support the premier student organization for career and technical education,” said NCCER workforce development director, Ed Prevatt. “It’s important for us to showcase the construction industry and demonstrate the rewarding career paths and opportunities these high school and technical college programs can provide.”

The contests are planned by technical committees made up of industry representatives and are designed to test the skills needed for successful entry-level performance in given occupational fields. Due to their tremendous importance, safety practices and procedures are also judged as a component of each contestant’s overall score.

Members of the 2012 national technical committee for carpentry included Chair Boyd Worsham, The Haskell Co. (Fla.); Robyn Bucknam, DEWALT Industrial Tool Co. (N.C.); Clay Kubicek, Crossland Construction Company, Inc. (Kan.); Ed Prevatt, NCCER (Fla.); Matt Clark, KBR (Ala.); and, Jay Wetterhus, Morton Buildings Inc. (Ill.).

A national education team assisted the national technical committee. Members included Les Zimmerman, Alexandria Technical College (Minn.); Troy Rupp, Alexandria Technical College (Minn.); Beth Zimmerman, Alexandria Technical College (Minn.); Jay Pearson, Greenville Technical College (S.C.); and, Robert Warner, Middleburg High School (Fla.).

NCCER would like to thank the following organizations for supporting America’s youth through their generous financial support of this year’s Carpentry Competition: The Haskell Company; North American Crane Bureau (NACB); Fluor; the Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC); Morton Buildings; Crossland Construction Company, Inc.; Cianbro; Granite Manpower; Pearson; PCL Industrial Construction; KBR; NAWIC Education Foundation (NEF); ISN; Prov; Tradesmen International; TIC Industrial Construction; and Zachry.