ALACHUA, Fla. — NCCER is proud to recognize the winners of the SkillsUSA Carpentry and Masonry competitions. The winners were announced on June 26 at the 51st annual SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference in Louisville, Kentucky.  

More than 6,000 outstanding career and technical education (CTE) students competed in nearly 100 different craft, technical and leadership fields. The competitions were part of the SkillsUSA Championships, which is the national-level competition for secondary and postsecondary students enrolled in CTE programs.

2015 marked the sixth year that NCCER has sponsored the SkillsUSA National Carpentry Competition and its third year sponsoring the National Masonry Competition. Carpentry Technical Committee Chair Boyd Worsham of The Haskell Company and Masonry Technical Committee Chair Bryan Light of Brick Industry Association led the way in organizing this year’s events.

NCCER is proud to congratulate the winners from both contests. In carpentry, high school medalists were Christopher Moran of Plattsburg, Missouri (gold); Travis Taylor of Durbin, West Virginia (silver); and Thomas Tidwell of Harrison, Ohio (bronze). Postsecondary medalists were Matthew Volmer of Parsons, Kansas (gold); Jared Zank of Riverton, Utah (silver); and Alexander Hernandez of LaBelle, Florida (bronze).

In masonry, high school medalists were Luke Dutton of Mount Ulla, North Carolina (gold); Tyler Hack of Fort Wayne, Indiana (silver); and Eric Kurtz of Perrysburg, Ohio (bronze). Postsecondary medalists were Alex Ossowski of Concord, North Carolina (gold); Cody Palmer of Media, Pennsylvania (silver); and Jose Hernandez of Phoenix, Arizona (bronze).

Carpentry contestants framed walls and rafters using wood and metal studs, affixed plywood sheathing to walls, completed fascia and trimmed window framing. Contestants were judged on accuracy, ability to read and interpret blueprints, workmanship and the proper use of tools and materials.

More than 40 masonry contestants from 32 states were allotted a maximum of six hours to construct a project composed of brick and block that was set on a concrete block base. Contestants received detailed drawings to which they were expected to closely adhere to while building their projects.

Winners of both competitions were decided based on the combined results of a written exam and evaluation of the competition project by a panel of journey-level judges. The contests are planned by technical committees made up of industry representatives and are designed to test the skills needed for successful entry‑level performance as a carpenter or mason. Due to their tremendous importance, safety practices and procedures are also judged as a component of each contestant’s overall score.

Members of the 2015 national technical committee for carpentry included Chair Boyd Worsham, The Haskell Company; Robyn Bucknam, DEWALT; Clay Kubicek, Crossland Construction Company, Inc.; Steve Greene, NCCER; Terry Westerman, ClarkDeitrich; Tracy Chambers, Nabholz Construction; and Jay Wetterhus, Morton Buildings Inc.

A national education team assisted the carpentry national technical committee. Members included Jay Pearson from Greenville Technical College in South Carolina and Les Zimmerman, Troy Rupp and Beth Zimmerman from Alexandria Technical and Community College in Minnesota.

Members of the 2015 national technical committee for masonry included Chair Bryan Light, Brick Industry Association; Dan Belcher, NCCER; Nick Blohowiak, SPEC MIX, Inc.; John Bongiovanni, Bon Tool Co.; Jeff Buczkiewicz, Mason Contractors Association of America; Brian Carney, SPEC MIX, Inc.; Rolly Cox, Multiquip Corp.; Jason Thompson, National Concrete Masonry Association; Kim Haley, Marshalltown Co.; Peter Kiley, Oldcastle Architectural; Bill Kjorlien, Argos USA; Ray Leonhard, Brick Industry Association; and Bob Melton, Masonry Institute of Tennessee.

A national education team assisted the national technical committee. Members included Al Herndon, Florida Masonry Apprentice & Educational Foundation; Todd Larson, Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College; and Don Clark, Richard McKnight and Richard Nagy.

NCCER would like to thank the following organizations for supporting America’s youth through their generous financial support and prize donations for this year’s carpentry and masonry competitions: Associated Builders and Contractors; the Associated General Contractors of America; Bahco; Bon Tool Company; Argos Masonry Cement; Brick Industry Association – Southeast Region; Build Your Future; Cianbro; ClarkDietrich Building Systems; Construction Master Pro by Calculated Industries; Crossland Construction Company; DEWALT; Fluor; The Haskell Company; Irwin Tools; ISN; Klein Tools; Marek Brothers Systems; Marshalltown Company; Mason Contractors of America; Morton Buildings; Multiquip Corporation; National Concrete Masonry Association; NAWIC Education Foundation; North American Crane Bureau; Oldcastle Architectural; Pearson; Primoris Services Corporation; Prov; Robins & Morton; S&B Engineers and Constructors; Snap-on; SPEC MIX, Inc.; Stiletto; TIC-The Industrial Company.